Hump Day Prayer

Hump Day Prayer: Help Us to Overcome Our Fears

It’s Wednesday, also known as Hump Day. Do you need to get over the hump? Here’s a quick prayer to help you finish this week strong!

What are you afraid of? For me, it’s bugs, specifically big bugs. This past Sunday, I told you about the terrifying dreams I used to have before I was saved. Well, one of those dreams included being under the control of a giant demonic cockroach. This isn’t the plot from a creepy kids cartoon show, this was an actual dream. I don’t know what I watched on TV that night before going to bed, or what I ate, but I remember waking up in a cold sweat—the house completely dark and deafeningly silent—screaming the name of Jesus. Even then I knew who to call on to save me.

Several weeks ago, I had a rather unpleasant encounter with a huge cockroach. Not as horrifying as the one in my dream years ago but equally as nasty. It was about the size of my index, middle, and ring fingers combined, and I had come to the conclusion that it was an unwelcome guest I had unknowingly brought home with me from work—a chemical company that sells pesticides that have obviously mutated the bugs on site.

I enlisted help to kill it, but all we did was dance and scream and run around. We sprayed bug spray on it, which only made it mad, because then it began to chase us. Finally, I slammed a wicker basket down on top of it, climbed inside and jumped up and down to make sure it was dead, and when we lifted the basket, we still had to finish it off with a fly swatter.

Afterward, we were both very squeamish. And I sat up several hours trying not to think about it before finally falling asleep, thankfully without any nightmares. Later, a thought came to my mind: When God gave man dominion over all the earth and all the birds and fish and animals and critters that crawl about the earth (Genesis 1:26), did He understand just how much bugs, specifically big bugs, give me the creeps?

“Behold, I give you the authority to trample on serpents and scorpions, and over all the power of the enemy, and nothing shall by any means hurt you.” Luke 10:19; NKJV

While most of my past fears have been washed away by the blood of Jesus, there’s one that still remains: BUGS. That thorn in my flesh. When Paul received the thorn in his flesh, he begged the Lord three times to remove it. But God said no; “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness” (2 Corinthians 12:7-9).

When I questioned whether or not God really knew just how afraid I am of bugs, He gave me a similar revelation. What is there to fear when I have the power of the Holy Spirit living inside of me? Greater is He who lives in me than he who lives in the world (1 John 4:4). I knew that back when I was unsaved, screaming Jesus’ name. What is there to be afraid of when He has given me the power to tread over serpents and scorpions and overgrown cockroaches, both real and dreamworld demonic? When God gave me dominion over this earth, He knew exactly what He was doing.

That night, battling the giant cockroach, I might have been afraid for a moment, but in the end, God still put that nasty little bug under my feet (Psalm 8:6), and any other nasty little bugs that will follow, natural or spiritual. I have the power to fight them all, because I rely on the One who gives me strength, even in my weaknesses.

“For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind.” 2 Timothy 1:7

Hump Day Prayer: Heavenly Father, help us to overcome our fears, for you did not give us a Spirit of fear, but one of power through the Holy Spirit. We know that without you we can do nothing, but with you all things are possible. In our weakness, guard us from dangers seen and unseen, give us the strength to stand against the devil and his schemes, to overpower our enemies. We are more than conquers through Christ who loves us. For neither death nor life, nor angels nor principalities nor powers, nor things present nor things to come, nor height nor depth, nor any other created thing, shall be able to separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord. So we will not be afraid because if God be for us, He is more than the world against us. Thank you, Father, for your love and your mercy and your power, which make us stronger even in our weakness. In Jesus’ name, we pray. Amen.

Leave a Reply

